Relationship Reflection

 

Relationship Reflection

 

       A relationship is an important aspect within the human society. As human beings, we need contacts and social net works which can only be set up via relationships. Even though relationships can some times be stressful, life can be very empty, boring,  and lonely if i have no relationship. I have found a lot of fulfillment in my relationship with my parents, cousin and wife and my daughter. my relationship with them are very important to me. They offer me a lot of support, encouragement and love that i very much needed to move on with life. My relationship with them highly influence my success. they are always there to support and encourage me in all that i do and when am down, they always come in to lift me up. they are the closet friends i have. They support me spiritually, financially, socially, and emotionally. They always play an important role to help relive me from stress. Relationships are also important to be cause i see it as a source of learning. The strength of my relationship with my cousin and wife deeply influence the hopefulness i need to be curious and open to new experiences. They inspire me so much. They make me to see the possibility to every situation. Relationships makes communication easier. In a relationship,issues are easily discussed, it ease negotiation and decisions are easily made. A relationship can animate us and allow us to feel loved and that we have a purpose in life.

       Currently, i have positive relationships with my parents, cousin and wife, and my daughter.

       I have a cordial and friendly relationship with my parents. my parents are hard working, kind, honest, loving and caring. Through them, i have been able to inculcate these attributes. they provided for me, were involved and concern about my health, education and social interactions. my relationship with them influence my academic success and modeled my social behavior. They are competent and always demonstrate self confidence and provided me with a sense of security and identity. knowing that they were there to provide for me made me comfortable and confidence in exploring every opportunity that comes my way. Through them, i learned how to move even when things are so difficult. Even though they were so loving and caring, they did not hesitate to use harsh methods and corporal punishment on me to discipline me. My parents listened to me and my opinion was counted when it came to making choices on what to cook. Even though my father is resting in the Lord, acknowledge and appreciate every time spent together.

       My relationship with my cousin and wife ( Gideon & Evert) is that which can not be measured. in terms of words. They are so caring, loving and concern about everything i do. I call them my mentors. They are very supportive, encouraging, and friendly.They have highly contributed to my success. They provide for me just like am a child. They are so inspirational and have inspire me to always strive for the best. They always respond promptly to my issues, advice and connect me to sources that can be helpful. My relationship with them is an important source of learning to me. They have opened my mind to new thoughts and experiences and it has helped me to move on. I always tell them my relationship with them was destined by God, My number one inspirational leader..

       My relationship with my daughter is enjoyable and superb. We both love and feel for each other. i listen to her, and respect her ideas. We share our concerns. Our relationship is characterized by love, self confidence, honesty, and respect.We both discuss our issues, negotiate, compromise and make decisions. Some times we get in to mild conflicts then resolve them.

       Regarding challenges to developing and maintaining relationships, i have gained insights on how to develop an effective working relationship in spite of the problems and conflicting perceptions and understanding that may be present in a relationship.I have also learned the importance of relationships and have understood that a consistent relationship with an adult is important to healthy development and growth.more over, i have gained insight on some stressors like the difficulty in connecting to some relationships and the challenge of maintaining objectivity in a relationship.I have also learned some important characteristics that can help me establish important and meaningful relationships like being competent, love, respect, support and honesty.

       Special characteristics of a relationship includes: love, support, kindness, patience, empathy, respect, honesty and the ability to communicate.

       My experiences with relationships/partnerships, as an effective early childhood professional, with an understanding of the various interrelated relationships associated with early interventions, i will include in my programs activities that will enable children to participate in learning, routines, and activities to create a link of support for children, their families and all who support them to be able to attend an efficient level of service ( Edelman, 2004). Also, with an understanding  that individual characteristics children bring to their relationship is necessary, as an early childhood professional, i will consider what each child brings to the relationship and how the relationship is affected by the context in which it is embedded. It is always easy to relate with some children than others; but as a professionals, it is essential that we examine what we bring in to a relationship and ask for support as needed so as to help children and their families. Also it will enable me to used required skills to bring in relationship based practices in early intervention  such as being competent in my discipline, listen carefully, and observe and high light parent/child relationship among others (Edelman, 2004). And understanding that successful early childhood education depends on partnerships with children families and communities, and understanding  the important and complex characteristics of children families and communities, i will be able to create respectful reciprocal relationships that will support and empower families and involve all families in their children development and learning.

Reference

Eldelman, L. (2003). A relationship-based approach to early intervention. Resources and Connections, 3(2). Retrieved from http://olms.cte.jhu.edu/olms/data/resource/1144/A%20Relationship-based%20Approach%20to%20Early%20Intervention.pdf.

 

 

      

       .

 

4 thoughts on “Relationship Reflection

  1. Veronica, I agree with your statement that having established a relationship with someone makes communication much simpler. I think it is important in our profession to understand the value of building relationships with our families and, children we serve.

  2. Veronica,
    You mentioned some relationships can be stressful and I completely agree. I like how you said people in your life support you spiritually. I think that is very important as well. You identified patience as a characteristic in positive relationships. We definitely need patience to have healthy relationships with the people in our lives. We may not always agree but we need patience. I enjoyed reading what you wrote about relationships in the early childhood profession. I think positive relationships with the students and their families is vital to their learning and healthy development.

  3. Veronica, I enjoyed reading your post. You shared some great insights of relationships. I am a firm believer that as human being we should not allow our lives to be boring; there is too much social networking out here, and it apart of human nature that we develop relationships with people.
    Sherrine

Leave a Reply

